1stGen Fan n00b Kid

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Smogon!

This is my first post and I'm new at the Pokemon metagame. I'm not good at this game and I've not played it a lot from Gen3+, but some friends of mine organized a little tournament and I decided to partecipate as an amateur...i mean, Pokemon is such a complex game and battling is so damn fun so why not give a try?

I know that some people of you absolutely don't like the idea of a 1st-Gen-Only team, because a team must not be built following a Pokemon name or how it is fancy, but cover a lot of strategies, type-covering on defense and attack. I know that i'm not going to build the strongest team i can, but... i just wanna try and see the result.
And not, I'm not a 1st Gen nostalgic fankid or other crap, I know that newer pokemon make the bigger presence in the OU tier and allow a lot of strategies, a lot of sweeping, walling, etc, so if I lose it's just my own damn fault. But I'm talking too much, this is what i built from my limited knowledge of the Pokemon metagame:

Sweepers
Dragonite
EV: Special Attack, Speed
Nature: Speed

Moves:
Draco Meteor
Flamethrower
Roost
Extremespeed

For some reason i preferred Special Attack over Attack for the Draco Meteor STAB and Flamethrower, but I'm not sure at all.
I'd use Draco Meteor with it's impressive attack as the main move, and Flamethrower for Ice enemies who want to STAB me. Extremespeed is there to try to compensate Dragonite's slow speed, and Roost to try to regain some health between turns.

Gengar

Moves
Night Shade
Dark Pulse
Pain Split
Focus Blast

The main move should be STAB Night Shade, but I'm not sure since it's super-effectiveness is very limited to Psychic and Ghost types. Dark Pulse can counter the Psychic weakness, Focus Blast should break some Normal/Rock/Dark walls, and Pain Split should be useful when my health is low, on the switch-ins and on the walls.

Starmie

Moves
Scald
Psychic
Ice Beam
Thunderbolt