Entertainment Curious science theories in Pokemon

Cretacerus

Survivor
is a Top Artist Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Top Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus
Reactions Contest Winner
Hello everyone,
this is my first time submitting an article idea, but I thought this would be an interesting topic to share with the community. I've been a great fan of the "How moves work" articles in The Smog which aimed to explain in-game issues with real world mechanics, so I want to do something similar with this.

In the article I would like to compile some interesting facts about Pokemon which, while appearing somewhat strange at first, actually match surprisingly well with recognized theories in science.

The ideas I have so far would be:

Giratina: String Theory
Deoxys: Panspermia Theory
Mew: Recapitulation Theory
Archeops: Neoflightless Hypothesis
Vivillon: Chaos Theory (Butterfly Effect)

As for the format, I was thinking of

Intro
  • World of Pokemon can be very different from ours, many things don’t seem to make sense
  • On closer inspection: similarities to some strange scientific concepts of own world
Pokemon 1-5(?)
  • Prominent traits that fit the theory (ex. Giratina: part of the dimensional trio, association to the number 6, banishment into distortion world)
  • What that particular theory says (ex. String theory: originally 10 dimensional universe, 6 of which were wound into a separate “world” at the beginning of time)
Conclusion
  • Nothing of that has been officially confirmed, this was only one way to interpret the Pokemon
  • Lots of other curious details in Pokemon, everyone is free to make their own conclusions and fan theories
  • An important aspect to Pokemon that makes it such a fun and lasting experience is that they provide a lot of room for interpretation and speculation
I'm aware that the deadline is next week already, so I won't be expecting to write this up for the current issue anymore