ORAS UU First RMT (SubPunch Conk Offense) Climbing ~1500

Hows it going guys? My name is Heavyw3ight, and I have been playing Pokemon competitively off and on for many years. Recently, I have gotten more serious about my team building and trying to improve my battling, and after getting some inspiration from a random live I started building this team.

Team Building Thought Process

534_00.png

I started with SubPunch Conkeldurr, a strong wallbreaker and decent cleaner with Iron Fist boosted Mach punch.

534_00.png
metagross.png

I knew I would need a stealth rocker as well as a Fairy and Flying resist, so Life Orb Metagross seemed like a good fit.

534_00.png
metagross.png
rotom-heat.gif

My first two pokemon struggle with ground types, as well as lack speed, I chose to run Rotom-H to check the pesky Ground and Fairy types.

534_00.png
metagross.png
rotom-heat.gif
2i0gepv.png

At this point, I was sorely lacking both speed and some form of special coverage. Enter Choice Scarf Hydreigon. Helps with Ground, through levitate, and is a soft check to Mega Aero that otherwise crushes me.

534_00.png
metagross.png
rotom-heat.gif
2i0gepv.png
RBYTentacruelRevamp-1.gif

My next priority was a fairly offensive spinner. I have always liked Tentacruel and he seemed to fit the more offensive nature of the team. He gives a bit more speed to a slower team.

534_00.png
metagross.png
rotom-heat.gif
2i0gepv.png
RBYTentacruelRevamp-1.gif
mega_sceptile_sprite_by_mike39201-d7lpajj.png

My final priority was a Mega that would give me speed and allow me to sweep late game. Mega Sceptile is faster than most of the unboosted metagame and gives a decent FWG core to play with.

In-Depth

scrafty_and_conkeldurr_by_bleachedsoul999-d3l1ftj.png

Conkeldurr @ Leftovers
Ability: Iron Fist
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 SpD
Adamant Nature
- Substitute
- Focus Punch
- Knock Off
- Mach Punch