Project Gen 7 Monotype PotW #9: Waszap

Kev

Part of the journey is the end
is a Community Leader Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
Approved by Eien , Acast & Vid
Based off of OU PotW and Gen 6 Mono PotW

Welcome to the ninth edition of Monotype Player of the Week!

(credits to Seo. for the banner)
During this project, I will be interviewing some of the most influential players in Monotype today whether it be based on their exceptional contribution to the metagame or their outstanding performance in tours. If anyone has suggestions on who should be interviewed next, feel free to PM me your ideas.
This week I decided to change things up and interview an up and coming player after being suggested alternating between top players and those. This week we have one of Monotype's rising stars and winner of the 2nd Monotype Summer Seasonal.

Waszap

Can you tell us a bit about your life outside of Smogon?
- I am currently an engineering student in Canada (yes, bagged milk). I usually play video games for fun and play football/soccer with my friends in the summer. I am a pretty laid back both online and irl, and enjoy just being around people.

What are you most known for?
- I think I'm mostly known for my tournament games, doing well in seasonals and mpl and the like have gotten my name more known within this community. Otherwise, I have been in the monotype community for a long time both in and out of leagues and have gotten to know many players, a lot of which now have grown to have greater influences in the meta.

What made you play Pokemon competitively? What got you into Monotype and made you want to stay?