How are you faring in the current economic situation?

I just want to see how everyone else is doing in the recession that we are currently in. Let me tell you my story of how I am doing.

I graduated high school in 2006. During this time the economy was pretty good despite the ongoing war in Iraq. I wanted to go straight to college but I couldn't because my parents got a divorce right after I graduated. They couldn't support me going to college, so I needed to find another way to do so. I spent a year working a bunch of odd-jobs to support myself and get money for college, but I was getting nowhere.

In March of 2007, I decided that in order for me to go to college and not be so fucking broke I had to join the military. I joined the Air National Guard mainly for the college money. I was successful with boot camp and tech school. When I got back home from military training I started working at a military base one weekend a month, and in return I get to go to college for free. This was by far the happiest time in my life, because EVERYTHING was going my way.

All did not end well though, cause' in December 2008 I was discharged from the Air National Guard. I didn't get in any trouble, but I was not able to get along with my supervisor so I got an Honorable discharge. Now that I was out of the military I had to pay for school myself with student loans. This added a lot of debt and I was eventually able to get an A.A. degree out of it. With this degree I wanted to start working and take a break from school.