SM OU a sunny christmas (1814 peak)

temp

legacy
is a Battle Simulator Staff Alumnus

RMT by -Latios-
Introduction

Hi Smogon. Today I'd like to present a team that is entirely different than anything that I've built. This team was created knowing that Sun is not as optimal as it was in Gen 5 and before, but I'd like to showcase this team to display that it still has merit. USUM OU has been fairly enjoyable for me so far, and I hope that—with further innovations— that the meta can improve even more. This is some of the most fun I've had using a team on the ladder, and I'm genuinely surprised at how fluently the team worked. I played this team from 1000 ELO to 1526 and stopped on my tempSunny alt, and I went from 1500 to 1814 on my tempering account!

To further dive in, I'd like to say that Sun is a very unexplored and very unique archetype. I've been playing Pokemon from a competitive aspect for many years, and nearly every team that I've built has had some form of innovation or unique quality. Sun in USUM OU, in my opinion, is extremely anti-meta thanks to threats such as Venusaur and Volcarona, who can catch their usual checks off guard. Furthermore, a lot of Pokemon can benefit from the Sun in this generation. Be it subtle or be it major, Pokemon like Zygarde, Charizard-Mega-X, Victini, etc. heavily benefit.

With the loss of Dugtrio, though, I feel that Sun has taken a heavy hit. While it was always an uncommon and unexplored playstyle, people will stray even farther away from it. Dugtrio was the glue that kept Sun together for the most part—trapping Heatran and Tyranitar for your abusers. This fact dates back to the BW days where Sun among many other weathers was ubiquitous. Given that, Pokemon such as Garchomp, Zygarde, or Landorus-Therian are presented with new opportunities to fit on Sun.