DPP Bronzong (Calm Mind/Heatproof)

Status
Not open for further replies.
UNFINISHED

I would love to have people suggesting what Calcs to do, moves to try, et cetera. I have had quite a bit of ridicule from people about how bad this set is; usually people who have never tried it or never played against it. Thanks in advance for the advice.

I have been using this for 4-5 months now. It is amazing. After I began using it, people started complimenting me on using Heatproof; not that I was the first to use it, of course, but since then I have seen several more people using it.

[set]

name: Heatproof + Calm Mind
move 1: Calm Mind
move 2: Psychic
move 3: Hidden Power (Ground)/Earthquake
move 4: Grass Knot/Hidden Power (Ice)/Trick
item: Leftovers/Choice Scarf/Choice Specs
ability: Heatproof
nature: Modest/Mild
evs: 252 HP / 252 SAtk / 6 SDef

[SET COMMENTS]
<p> You would not be the first person to ask or say 'What is the point or this set?' or question its usefulness compared to the standard Levitate Bronzong. Well, contrary to popular belief this Bronzong is very good at sweeping; as most of the fire-type pokemon who can sport a STAB Fire Blast or Flamethrower will see themselves dealing less than 50% after one Calm Mind. (See Calculations Below)</p>

<p> Some stuff about countering standard threats </p>

<p> Some Calculations

On the Defense:

Scarf Heatran Flamethrower vs Bronzong w/ 1 Calm Mind - 27.2% - 32.5%
MixApe Flamethrower vs Bronzong w/ 1 Calm Mind - 30.2% - 36.1%
Standard Mixmence Fireblast vs Bronzong w/ 1 Calm Mind - 20.7% - 24.9%
Rotom Max Attack Overheat vs Bronzong w/ 1 Calm Mind - 25.4% - 30.2%

That is just an example of the defensive power of this set. Those are some of the most powerful Fire-Type attacks that will come at Bronzong, from the special side of the spectrum. The only fire attacks that will generally come at Bronzong from the physical side of the spectrum are Fire Punches from Jirachi and Dragonite.