Snorunt (LC Analysis) [WIP]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zari

What impossible odds?
is a Contributor Alumnus
Note this is my first time posting a set in QC, so if I'm breaking any rules, please let me know.

http://www.smogon.com/dp/pokemon/snorunt

[Overview]
<p> While its pure Ice-typing will often lead players to look for other options, Snorunt is highly viable in today's metagame. Sporting decent stats across the board, strong STAB, as well as an interesting-but-shallow movepool, Snorunt has more than enough wherewithal to carve a place for itself in Little Cup. It may not be the one to sweep the opponent's team, but it certainly has the tools to help others do so, whether it be by weakening the opponent's team, or laying spikes down for some crucial passive damage.</p>

[SET]
name: Lead
move 1: Ice Beam
move 2: Ice Shard
move 3: Hidden Power Ground / Hidden Power Grass
move 4: Spikes
item: Focus Sash / Oran Berry
ability: Inner Focus
nature: Naive
evs: 36 Atk / 36 Def / 200 SpA / 40 SpD / 196 Spe
ivs: 30 SpA / 30 SpD

[Set Comments]
<p>When placed in the lead slot, Snorunt fares well against almost all other leads. Inner Focus renders Fake Out users useless, and the combination of Ice Beam and Ice Shard lands a 2HKO on many an opponent; most notably Hippopotas, Snover, and Voltorb, three prominent weather leads. Lead Diglett can also be beaten, but one must be wary of Sucker Punch after taking an Earthquake. Hidden Power Ground allows Snorunt to damage LeaDour, who resists its STAB, while Hidden Power Grass allows Snorunt to beat Omanyte, Kabuto, and Onix. Spikes is placed in the last slot for team support, and should be used to incite mind games against faster Sucker Punch users.</p>

[Additional Comments]
<p></p>

[SET]
name: SpikeRunt
move 1: Ice Shard
move 2: Spikes
move 3: Protect
move 4: Crunch
item: Oran Berry
ability: Inner Focus
nature: Jolly
evs: 36 HP / 36 Atk / 116 Def / 116 SpD / 196 Spe

[Set Comments]
<p></p>

[Additional Comments]