VGC Speed Demons - VGC16 Team

Speed Demons – A VGC16 Team

Hi. I’m Epic_Mewtwo and this is my first ever VGC16 team – Speed Demons. It is a team focused on both Trick Room and Tailwind. I’m doing quite well with it even though I am new to VGC.

Teambuilding:

First I focused on the Trick Room core:

I chose Aromatisse as my Trick Roomer thanks to its low speed and ability in Aroma Veil.

Then I added Primal Groudon, as it functions well under Trick Room.

I also added Mega Kangaskan, because of its high power and lower speed.

Then I started the Tailwind core:

I chose Zapdos because it has access to both Tailwind and Thunder Wave.

Then I added Primal Kyogre to benefit from the Tailwind.

Finally, I added Mega Salamence to finish off the Tailwind core.

The Team:

Trick Room Core
Out of the two cores, I find this one to be the most successful. Here it is:

Aromatisse @ Chesto Berry
Ability: Aroma Veil
EVs: 252 HP/126 Def/4 SpA/126 SpD
Sassy Nature
- Trick Room
- Aromatherapy
- Heal Pulse
- Dazzling Gleam

Aromatisse is my Trick Room setter, and it is good at what it does. I needed something that could deal with the two things that stop can stop Trick Room from being set up: Thundurus and Dark Void Smeargle. The answer was simple: Aromatisse. Aroma Veil protects it from Prankster Taunt. My way of dealing with Smeargle is more creative.

1) Smeargle uses Dark Void, putting both Aromatisse and Groudon to sleep.
2) Aromatisse eats its berry, wakes up, and goes for Trick Room.
3) With Aromatisse being the fastest on the field, it uses Aromatherapy to wake up Groudon.
4) Groudon wakes up and either:
a) Goes for Eruption and annihilates Smeargle
b) The Smeargle is Focus Sash and lives the hit, but as the Smeargle never saw it coming, dies the next turn to a Dazzling Gleam from a now faster Aromatisse.

While Aromatisse’s bulk may be disappointing, it survives longer than you may expect, and I’ve gotten really attached to it.

Groudon-Primal @ Red Orb