The Musical Talent of Smogon

As some of you probably know, I play bass guitar and try to regularly upload videos. I've come across a couple of other members who play instruments (strangely we had four bass players on #smogon a ways back...), but I'm guessing that there are a lot more than what meets the eye. Why? Well, Smogon has proven to have a greater-than-average portion of talented people, be it in academics, sports (running especially), gaming, or whatever else you can think of. So, if you play an instrument, let it be known. Why did you pick that instrument - what attracted you to it? What drives you to want to practice and improve (or conversely to not practice)?

As for myself, I started playing the bass simply because it was my only choice. I had taken piano lessons for seven years (and then I quit), and our church's youth band needed a piano player, so I tried out. Unfortunately, there was this other person who tried out, and she was amazing at piano, so I didn't get the spot. However, they kinda-sorta needed a bass player, so I borrowed the church bass and started learning. I'm entirely self-taught, but I do have a pretty musical background. Along with the piano, I've played viola in orchestra ever since sixth grade (I'm currently in 11th), and have always been placed in the highest level of orchestra (advanced orchestra for jr. high, chamber orchestra in high school) where I'm first chair on and off with another player. I also play a bit of guitar, but am not too great (I can play most chord songs and can fingerpick much better than I can pick-pick, but that's about it).